Lavrov calls on the SCO member states to turn away from the dollar

Local 14969

Each member state of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) must decide for itself on the abandonment of the dollar, but there are enough facts about the unreliability of this currency in terms of the possibility of abuse.  On 29 July, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov informed journalists about the outcomes of the meeting of the council of Foreign Ministers of the SCO member states.

"Each SCO country must decide for itself how comfortable it is to rely on the dollar, given the absolute unreliability of this currency in terms of the possibility of abuse.

The Americans have used it several times against several countries, so I am sure that the SCO countries have their own analytical structures that assess the situation, draw conclusions and take practical steps in their interests," Lavrov said while answering the question about the prospects of giving up dollar by the members states of SCO.

Lavrov said that at the end of the meeting of the council of Ministers, the leaders of the SCO member states agreed on a "Roadmap for the transition to expanding the use of national currencies in mutual settlements."

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is a permanent regional international association established on 15 June 2001, in Shanghai.  Russia, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan are members of SCO.  This year, the chairmanship of the organization was transferred to Uzbekistan.

Sunnatilla Abdullayev Shaxzod Nusratulloyev
Rate this article
Rate Count: 497
Rating: 3